By Elections

General elections for the Wagait Shire Council are held every four years, as outlined in the Local Government Act.

If a vacancy arises on Council during the four year term, a by-election is held and must take place within three months of the vacancy arising.

Since May 2012, the NT Electoral Commission conducts all Council elections and voting is compulsory. The next general election for local government is due to be held in August 2017.

For more information on Local Government Elections, please visit the NT Electoral Commission website.

For information on the results of Wagait Shire Council by-elections, please visit